Three UMBC Women’s Soccer Alums Recognized on Big South All-Decade Teams

Big South Conference Release

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Three former UMBC women's soccer players were named to one of the Big South Conference's three All-Decade Teams to help celebrate the league's 30th anniversary. Among those recognized were Denise Schilte (Grimsby, Ontario/Denis Morris), Laura Dvorak (Midlothian, Va./Midlothian) and Shannon Bagrosky (Columbia, Md./Howard). 

Schilte was a member of the Retrievers from 1992-95 and was inducted into the UMBC Hall of Fame in 2001. She still stands as the program's all-time leader in points (148), goals (55) and assists (38). The Canadian finished first in the region and third in the nation in scoring in 1992 and was 11th in the nation in scoring in 1993. She was the 1995 Big South Player of the Year, in addition to accumulating three All-Conference selections during UMBC's reign in the league. The forward led the league in assists in 1995 (nine) and finished her career as the Big South's all-time leader in assists.

Dvorak, a member of the program from 1993-96, was a three-time All-Conference selections and was honored on the 1996 Big South All-Academic Team. The midfielder was also named to the 1996 Big South All-Tournament Team. She concluded her career with 17 goals, six assists and 40 points.

Bagrosky was a member of the Retrievers from 1994-97 and was inducted into the UMBC Hall of Fame in 2008. The defender scored 20 goals and recorded 50 points during her career and was a three-time All-Conference honoree. The Columbia, Md. native earned All-Tournament Team recognition during the Retrievers' quest for a title in its final season in the Big South.

UMBC women's soccer was a member of the Big South Conference from 1993-1997. During that time, the Retrievers posted a 48-43-3 overall record and a 17-11 mark in league play. The black and gold reached the semifinals of the Big South Tournament in all five seasons and made two trips to the championships matches (1993 and 1997).  

A committee of Big South Conference administrators served as the official voting panel to determine the All-Decade Teams, with fan voting comprising 20 percent of the overall total.

View: Mobile | Desktop