Women’s Lacrosse Drops 12-5 Decision at Temple

Photo by Jack Miller
Photo by Jack Miller

PHILADELPHIA – The UMBC women's lacrosse team had its four-game winning streak snapped on Saturday after falling to Temple, 12-5, at Howarth Field. Five different players scored for the Retrievers but were unable to overcome a strong second-half showing from the Owls. Temple moves to 6-1 on the season, while UMBC falls to 4-2.

The first half was a low scoring affair for both teams as they went to half time tied at 2-2. After Temples scored the first goal of the game, senior Sam Nolan (Fallston, Md./Fallston) netted her 21st of the year. Sophomore Brittany Levine (Middletown, Md./Middletown) took a feed from junior Caitlin Miller (Frederick, Md./Tuscarora) before halftime to keep things tied up. 

In the second half, the trend of back-and-forth scoring continued as the Owls scored off a free position shot almost right out of the gates. Sophomore Sara Moeller (Phoenix, Md./St. Paul's School for Girls) knotted things up, 3-3, almost three minutes into to the second stanza.

After Temple added another one to the board, UMBC scored back-to-back goals in a span of less than 30 seconds from sophomores Lauren McDonald (Catonsville, Md./Catonsville) and Payton Van Kirk (Ocean City, Md./Stephen Decatur) to give the Retrievers a 5-4 lead. Temple, however, would score eight unanswered goals to take the victory. 

In addition to her goal, Moeller also added an assist for her 12th of the season. Levine pulled down four of the Retrievers' eight draws, while also leading the team with three ground balls. Sophomore Jenna Baverman (Baltimore, Md./Roland Park Country School/Hofstra) and senior Rachel Katzenberger (Kingsville, Md./Eastern Technical), in addition to McDonald and Levine, each forced a turnover.

Between the pipes, senior Ashley Peacock (Crofton, Md./Elizabeth Seton/Louisville) made seven saves in all 60 minutes of playing time. 

UP NEXT: The Retrievers will return to Baltimore on Wednesday, March 8 as they travel to #18 Johns Hopkins for a 5 p.m. contest.