Retriever Student-Athletes Honored at 2010-11 Varsity Awards Ceremony

2011 Outstanding Athletes - Levi Houapeu and Abbey McKenney

Outstanding Senior Athletes - Keith Onto, Brad Reitz, Sara Parkinson and Stephanie Weigman

Matt Skalsky Scholar-Athletes - Dr. George LaNoue, Athlete Policy Committee Chairman, Keilan Freeman and Michelle Kurowski

BALTIMORE—Men’s soccer star Levi Houapeu and women’s swimming and diving standout Abbey McKenney were named UMBC Athletics’ Athletes of the Year at the annual varsity awards banquet, held at the University Center Ballroon Monday evening.


The 2010-11 Outstanding Senior Athlete awards went to Sara Parkinson of women’s track and field and cross country, Stephanie Weigman of softball,Keith Onto of men’s track and field and Brad Reitz of men’s swimming and diving. Michelle Kurowski andKeilan Freeman of men’s swimming and diving earned the Matt Skalsky Outstanding Scholar-Athlete honors. Track and field’s Roy Jones and Laura Walker were awarded the Retriever Club Scholarships.


In the first ever Gritty Awards, which saw over 3,000 votes cast on the UMBC Dawg Blog, Sabrina Hoekswas named the Comeback Athlete of the Year andAshley Scroggin of softball the Breakthrough Athlete of the Year. Women’s Swimming and Diving’s win over Boston University in the America East Championships earned Upset of the Year, while Reitz earned the Record-Breaking Performance of the Year. Dan Louisignau’s penalty kick save in the men’s soccer conference title game was named the Play of the Year.


Houapeu was named Male Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year after earning America East Strike of the Year and 2010 NSCAA/Performance Subaru Men's NCAA Division I Third Team All-American honors. He was drafted and signed by the Philadelphia Union of Major League Soccer in January, the first UMBC student-athlete earn such honors.


McKenney earned gold in the 50-, 100- and 200-yard freestyle events at the America East Championships and was the anchor for four UMBC-record breaking relays, including the 200- and 400-yard freestyle relays that took home gold. Her 50 and 100 times were also school records.


Parkinson has had an outstanding career in cross country and both track and field seasons, holding six UMBC records, including five set during the 2011 outdoor season. She broke the 3,000- and 5,000-meter run records in consecutive weeks in April and this past weekend broke school mark and earned bronze in the 1,500-meter run at the America East Championships held at UMBC Stadium.


Weigman will go down as one of the top hurlers in UMBC softball history. She holds the UMBC record in almost every career record including wins with 64 and strikeouts with 769.


Onto holds the school record in the most grueling events of both the indoor and outdoor seasons, the heptathlon and decathlon. He won gold in the 2011 indoor conference meet after taking gold in the 2010 outdoor championships.


Reitz became just the seventh swimmer in America East history to win an individual event four years in a row when he won the 200-yard butterfly at the 2011 America East Championships. At the same meet, he was awarded the Coaches Award, which is given to the student-athlete who has accumulated the most points in a four-year career. In addition to winning gold in the 200 fly, he won the 200 IM and was a part of the gold medal-winning 800 free relay, all of which were UMBC records.


Below is the list of UMBC’s most valuable athletes, most improved athletes and unsung heroes for each sport, chosen by that team’s coaches:


Men’s Soccer

Most Valuable Athlete: Levi Houapeu

Most Improved Athlete: Dan Louisignau


Women’s Soccer

Most Valuable Athlete: Christine Sadowski

Unsung Hero: Katie Gitlin



Most Valuable Athlete: Sabrina Hoeks

Unsung Hero: Bianca Sande


Men’s Cross Country

Most Valuable Athlete: Sam Boimov

Most Improved Athlete: Roy Jones


Women’s Cross Country

Most Valuable Athlete: Sara Parkinson

Most Improved Athlete: Cortney Crouse


Women’s Basketball

Most Valuable Athlete: Michelle Kurowski

Most Valuable Athlete: Erin Brown


Men’s Basketball

Most Valuable Athlete: Chris De La Rosa

Most Improved Athlete: Chase Plummer


Men’s Indoor Track and Field

Most Valuable Athlete: Keith Onto

Most Valuable Athlete: Trae Proctor


Women’s Indoor Track and Field

Most Valuable Athlete: Amanda Deller

Most Valuable Athlete: Kirsten Jones


Men’s Swimming and Diving

Most Valuable Athlete: Eric Jones

Most Valuable Athlete: Brad Reitz


Women’s Swimming and Diving

Most Valuable Athlete: Abbey McKenney

Most Valuable Athlete: Jennifer Kotonias


Men’s Tennis

Most Valuable Athlete: Rasid Winklaar

Most Improved Athlete: Gaulthier Berret


Women’s Tennis

Most Valuable Athlete: Kim Berghaus

Most Improved Athlete: Emily Mannix


Men’s Lacrosse

Most Valuable Athlete: Brian McCullough

Unsung Hero: Neill Lewnes


Women's Lacrosse

Most Valuable Athlete: Alicia Krause

Unsung Hero: Erika Braerman


Men’s Outdoor Track and Field

Most Valuable Athlete: Trae Proctor

Most Valuable Athlete: Michael Christmas


Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

Most Valuable Athlete: Amanda Deller

Most Valuable Athlete: Britney Foreman



Most Valuable Athlete: Julia Culotta

Most Valuable Athlete: Katie Ferguson



Awards will be given out after season is completed.