UMBC Athletics Introduces the Gritty Awards

Vote on the Gritty Awards


For the first time, the 2011 UMBC Varsity Awards Banquet will feature The Gritty Awards, five “ESPY”-style awards in which all Retriever fans, student-athletes and alumni will have input on who wins. The UMBC Dawg Blog will be hosting videos of all the nominees and polls for fans to vote for who they think was Comeback and Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, what the Upset of the Year was and what were the Record-Breaking Performance and Plays of the Year.


Nominees for Comeback Athlete of the Year include women’s basketball’s Erin Brown, men’s basketball’s Justin Fry, volleyball’s Sabrina Hoeks and men’s soccer’s Dan Louisignau. The award is for the student-athlete who returned from a major injury to excel this year.


The Breakthrough Athlete of the Year is for the student-athlete who showed drastic improvement from previous seasons at UMBC. The nominees are swimming and diving’sJennifer Kotonias, women’s basketball’s Topé Obajolu, men’s track and field’s Trae Proctor, women’s lacrosse Natalie Rau and softball’s Ashley Scroggin.


The Upset Performance of the Year nominees are men’s soccer over Princeton in the First Round of the NCAA Tournament, women’s swimming and diving over Boston University to win the America East title, women’s lacrosse over No. 17 Towson, women’s basketball over Boston U. on their way to winning the regular season crown and men’s basketball winning a big away game at Maine.


The Best Record-Breaking Performance of the Year nominees are women’s basketball’s Topé Obajolu, track and field’s Sara Parkinson, swimming and diving’s Abbey McKenney andBrad Reitz, men’s basketball’s Justin Fry and softball’s Stephanie Weigman. The award is for the best performance that set a standard at UMBC.


The Best Play of the Year is for the best singular play or performance by a student-athlete. The nominees are tennis’ Gaulthier Berret, softball’s Lauren Brummell, men’s lacrosseScott Jones, women’s basketball’s Michelle Kurowski and men’s soccer’s Levi Houapeuand Dan Louisignau,


Voting will continue on the UMBC Dawg Blog until Thursday, May 5. Please only vote once. The winners will be announced at the Varsity Awards Banquet on Monday, May 9