Nine to Be Inducted Into UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, Feb. 4

Register for Hall of Fame Dinner/Inductions Here!


The largest class in the history of the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame will be inducted on Saturday,Feb. 4, 2012.

The honorees are Dr. Charles Brown (Director of Athletics 1989-current), Jen Dragoni (women’s lacrosse, 2000-04), Brad Green (swimming & diving 2000-04),  Adam Grossman (track & field  2002-06), Ted Lawler (men’s soccer 1994-98), Brendan Mundorf  (men’s lacrosse 2002-06), Josef Novotny (men’s tennis, 2001-04), Keith Puryear (head tennis coach ,1990-2008), and Drew Westervelt  (men’s lacrosse 2003-07).  

There are now 121 members of the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame, which was instituted in the 1970s, and in 1990, Dr. Brown created The Annual Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony. This event now occurs every other year. Candidates are nominated throughout the two-year period and are selected for induction by a committee of current Hall of Fame members based on their excellence in competition at UMBC and subsequent graduation from the university.

In addition, Dr. Marvin Mandell will receive the athletic department's Dr. Charles Woolston Award. The award is given to an individual who provides outstanding service to the department and strives to improve the student-athlete experience. Dr. Mandell, a professor of policy sciences, has served as the university's NCAA Faculty Representative for the past nine years.

The18th induction dinner and ceremony will take place at the Westin Baltimore Washington Airport – BWI. The cost to attend the induction dinner is $60, which includes a ticket to the basketball doubleheader vs. Maine that afternoon (1:00 p.m./3:30 p.m.) at the RAC Arena. The new class of Hall of Famers will be introduced at halftime of the men’s 3:30 game. The dinner will begin at 7:00 p.m., with inductions to follow. Please contact Kevin Gibbons O’Neill at 410-455-1532 or for additional information about the event or to purchase tickets.

The Inductees

Dr. Charles Brown, Director of Athletics, (1989-present)

Dr. Brown is the longest-tenured director of athletics at the NCAA Division I level in the state of Maryland.  UMBC has won the most Commissioner’s Cups (6, 1992, 1999-2003) of any Division I program in the state. In the past 11 years, Retriever teams have won 52 league titles and made 31 appearances in NCAA Championship competition and in the past 12 years, 32 student-athletes have earned Academic All-American honors and the student-athlete graduate rate is 10 percent higher than the university rate.  Dramatic increases have taken place in facilities, entrepreneurial efforts, and full-time faculty and staff of the athletic department. Dr. Brown has served two terms as president of the Maryland Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics and served a term on the NCAA Division-I Championships/Competition Cabinet.

Jen Dragoni Muston, Women’s Lacrosse (2000-04)

Jen Dragoni Muston is currently the all-time leader in assists (63) in women’s lacrosse history. She is eighth in all-time goals (123) and fifth in points (186).  Dragoni posted the second-most points in a UMBC Division I season with 61 (37-24) in 2003 and was the 2003 Northeast Conference Player of the Year. The Morton, Pa. native was a First Team All-NEC pick in 2002 and 2003 and an America East First Team attacker in 2004. She was the Most Valuable Player of the 2002 NEC Tournament as UMBC advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time and was tabbed UMBC’s Outstanding Female Athlete in 2004.

Brad Green, Men’s Swimming & Diving (2000-04)  

Brad Green currently holds the UMBC record in the 100-yard freestyle (44.82) and is a part of the 400-yard freestyle relay school record. He was named America East and ECAC Outstanding Male Swimmer in 2004, as well as the UMBC Outstanding Male Senior Athlete. As a senior, Green led the men’s swimming and diving teams to a 12-1 record and UMBC’s first America East title in the 2003-04 season.  He captured four gold and one silver medal at the league championships, and went on to win the 50 yard freestyle at the ECAC Championships, also earning Swimmer of the Meet honors.  As a junior, medaled in all seven events in which he competed at the ECAC’s, including first place finishes in the 50 and 100 free, and 400 free relay.

Adam Grossman, Men’s Track and Field (2002-06)

Adam Grossman was the 2005 America East Most Outstanding Track Performer (outdoors). The sprinter was a five-time America East outdoor champion (2 relays), three-time America East indoor champion. 2004 and 2005 Academic All-District. He ranks in the top 3 all-time at UMBC in five different events (3 indoor, 2 outdoor) and posted the second-fastest time ever in the America East Championships in the 100m dash. Combining excellence on the track and in the classroom, Grossman was the 2004 and 2005 America East Indoor Scholar-Athlete, the 2004 and 2005 America East Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete and a 2006 Academic All-America Third Team honoree. The Pikesville, Md. native was a two-time UMBC Matt Skalsky Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award winner (2005, 2006).

Ted Lawler, Men’s Soccer (1994-98)  

Dr. Theodore “Ted” Lawler was a three-time All- Conference player, earning honors in both the Big South (1995, 1997) and Northeast (1998, First Team) Conferences. Despite relatively modest scoring numbers, he was honored as the Player of the Year in the Big South Conference in 1997. He was also a Second-Team All- South Atlantic regional selection in 1998. He earned the 1994 Ed Veit Award (top freshman) and was the team’s MVP in 1997 and 1998. The Columbia, Md. native also won the Matt Skalsky Outstanding Scholar Athlete award in the 1997-98 and 1998-99 seasons. 


Josef Novotny, Men's tennis (2001-2004)


Josef Novotny was an All-Conference honoree in all three seasons he competed at UMBC. He earned All-Northeast Conference honors in 2002 and All-America East honors in 2003, and 2004, all at No. 1 singles. Novotny earned two addition All-Conference citations at No. 1 doubles in 2002 and 2003. The native of the Czech Republic was ranked No. 21 in the ITA Northeast region in 2002, No. 10 in 2003, and No. 8 in 2004. He is the only UMBC tennis player to make it to the semifinals of the regional championships, and he did it twice. Josef was ranked as high as No. 4 in region and earned UMBC’s Matt Skalsky Scholar-Athlete award in 2004.

Keith Puryear, Head Tennis Coach, 1990-2008

Keith Puryear won 443 matches as the UMBC mentor, recorded a 59.4 winning percentage and earned nine conference Coach of the Year honors in his final decade of coaching at UMBC. His men’s teams appeared in five NCAA Tournaments (2000-2003, 2007), while the women have also made five trips (1999-2003) to NCAA competition. Puryear also competed on the courts for UMBC after transferring from Howard University and before serving in the United States Marine Corps from 1983-88. He is the current head women’s tennis coach at the United States Naval Academy.

Editor's Note: Mundorf and Westervelt are unable to attend the event, due to a commitment the same evening as members of the Philadelphia Wings. Hence, their formal induction will occur in 2014.